Canada = Hockey & ‘enfants (thats french)

The whole canadaians and hockey thing is not a myth.  Everyone here is a hockey FREAK (okay, maybe not EVERYONE, but close)  All of the boys in Ben and Joe’s classes play hockey and most of the girls do too.  Everyone likes hockey.  I HATE hockey.  It’s mean and it’s cold.  I hate freezing!  Joe’s best friend N plays hockey, he invited us to his first game of the season, we went, I froze, I hate hockey.  Joe’s girlfriend plays hockey, I am NOT going, I have had my fill of freezing.  Or so I thought….  Ben’s girlfriend’s mom called me last night and invited me and Joe and Ben to the NHL alumni hockey game.  I will go, I will smile and be friendly and I will freeze my ass off.  I hate hockey…..  But I like friends, and I need friends and if friends are going to hockey, then I will too.  I will freeze, but I will go.  Wish me luck as I try and figure out which box my long johns are in….  I HATE FREEZING!!

Sam has been sick, which sucks.  He’s missed 2 days of school so far and he’ll be home again today.  He is getting better, I think he’ll be able to go to school tomorrow.  He loves school.  He is doing so well in the french immersion program.  He knows so much already.  He can count to 20 in french, and say the french alphabet.  He knows all of the polite phrases, he knows the words associated with Thanksgiving and most of the Halloween words.  He also knows tons of random nouns.  It’s so cute when he tries to teach me, I am hopeless.  Juli gets so pissed because he knows more french then she does.  She is learning alot to but at a slower pace, she only has french an hour a day.  Ben and Joe are doing as well as can be expected.  Ben is taking 8th grade core french (the other kids in his class have had 10 years of core french) The things they are learning are not conversational, they are more grammer-like.  The teacher speaks only french, so Ben has absolutely no chance of actually learning, but he is hearing and eventually so of the phrases will sink in.  Joe’s french is about the same, but Joe has had so much spanish that he can a least fake some knowledge of french.  Both Ben and Joe are exempt from french so they are not actually graded on it, they just have to sit there and absorb, like a sponge.

Take care!

Miss yous!

One response to “Canada = Hockey & ‘enfants (thats french)

  1. PIERRE BONHOMME DE NEIGE

    GET LAID BEFORE HOCKEY!!! YOU’LL STAY WARMER

Leave a Reply

