Funeral for crash victim to be held Saturday

Posted 13 hours ago

A funeral service is being held Saturday for a father of five young children who died in a vehicle collision Tuesday near Hagar. The Ontario Provincial Police said road conditions were a factor in the collision that killed Jeffrey Walter Hunt of St. Charles. Hunt, 38, was killed when the car he was driving collided with a southbound pickup truck at the Nepewassi River bridge north of St. Charles. The driver and passenger in the truck were transported to St. Joseph’s Hospital with non-life threatening injuries. Hunt was a mechanical engineer with Marcotte Mining. Hunt leaves behind his wife Laura Runge and five children ranging in age from 13 to three years-old. Friends are rallying together on the online social network of Facebook. Friends created the “In Memory of Jeff Hunt” group and are urging people to make a donation to support his family. His funeral is being held 11 a.m. Saturday at the Paul Funeral Home in Powassan, Ont

One response to “

  1. Hi Laura,

    I followed your link here from Tertia’s website.

    I am horrified and shocked. What an awful thing to happen. I am so sorry.

    I have two young kids, and I’m very good at working myself into an imaginary lather about my husband dying in a car accident when he’s a lot later than he said he would be. I can only imagine how much worse it is to have it actually happen.

    My mother died earlier this year, and man it sucked, but one of the most poignant, painful things was explaining it to my 7 year old (my 2 year old is too young to have any idea what happened) and then watching him grieve. This was his first experience with death of a close relative.

    It must be awful having to deal with your own grief, and that of your kids, and having to learn how to be a single parent and deal with everything around the house yourself.

    I’m so sorry.

Leave a Reply

