Crap-y day

And just when you think things can’t get much worse…

 We store fire wood in the “wood room”  which is a room in the basement.  We or I also split wood in the wood room.  Today I went down to do my daily wood splitting and the floor was soaked, it also stunk.  I thought “hmmm….I wonder if I really want to know”  At that time I decided I didn’t, so I started splitting wood.  It was difficult to do with all the puddles on the floor, every time I split a log, half would go flying into a puddle and splash, then I’d have to fish it out.  Lovely.  I then decided to roll up my jammies and take a closer look.  I placed logs so I could stand on them and keep my feet dry.  After moving a ton of logs, I discovered the problem. 

THE FREAKING SEWAGE PIPE WAS LEAKING

So now I have sewage spilling out and making puddles all over and tons of logs soaking up said sewage.  Have you ever tried to split a sewage soaked log?  Don’t.  Dis-cuss-ting. 

I did what any young, inexperienced widow would do:  I got the duct tape.  Tah-Dah!!  No more leaking sewage!  I haven’t quite figured out what to do with all the sewage soaked logs, but we’ll solve that problem later.  I’ve reached my stress level quota for the day.

Lovely, EH?

I really don’t want to leave you with such a gross image so here:

This pic makes me soo thirsty.  I love it!

7 responses to “Crap-y day

  1. I LOVE your ingenuity!! I’m a Missouri-Hillbilly by birth…so I’m in awe of your duct-tape skills!!
    I just had a leak fixed in the water line coming in to my house….AFTER months of a mysterious water puddle in the middle of my front yard AND lots of digging to find the source. Which was right by the house.
    This is probably too much info for a first-time commenter to share….but hey! I felt a kinship!

  2. Oh, that’s awful. I lived alone for a long time (no kids at the time), and things like that would happen to me, too. I used to do the same type of thing! Hugs to you.

  3. Hey –

    I’d be suprised if that was a sewage pipe (ie from the toilet) as it doesn’t look to be 4 inches in diameter. These are also *normally* under the basement slab. It’s probably from a sink or something similar.

    To fix this, you need to measure the diameter of the pipe in inches. Then you need to buy something like this:

    Once you have the coupling, you will probably need to cut out some of the ABS pipe to sneak this coupling in there. Then slide it on, and tighten the screws. Voila, fixed! The coupling costs under $5 from Home Depot (or any other store that sells them). It’ll look like this when done (the left side, gray coupling)

    The duct tape won’t last long because it will get wet, and the glue will give way.

    Hope this helps.

  4. UGH! Just what you needed. But what a great job you did fixing it up.

  5. if you can afford it, call Cotton or another water damage company to help you! Yuck!

  6. I can’t see the first picture, but I’m thinking it’s probably just as well. Hurray for duct tape. Yuck.

  7. That’s totally sh*tty. Pun intended.

    I’m pretty sure burning sewage logs is not good for you. I could be wrong but I’m pretty sure that’s how malaria is made.

Leave a Reply

