Moving and music

Weekends are hard, but they are getting easier to push through.  I brought the kids into town on Saturday.  The little three recieved their bi-weekly bribe, and the older two got visitation with their girlfriends.  Everyone was pleased.  I also finally replaced the ipod that was in the accident with Jeff.  I didn’t realize how much I missed music.  Sometimes a song will give me such an “ah ha” moment, and sometimes certain songs just seem to fit my moods.  It’s almost like the ipod “knows” what I need to hear.  Kinda cool!

I have started packing for real, I have about 40 boxes packed.  Most of Jeff’s stuff is packed.  I really feel like a dork for packing it and moving it with me, but it’s what I need to do right now.  I don’t actually think I’ll unpack it, but I still can’t get rid of it yet. 

On top of that, I am a horrible pack rat.  I don’t know if I’ve written this out or not, but in 7th grade I took a year of French.  I really enjoyed it and saved every single one of my french papers and tests.  I saved them for 21 years…  When we moved here and discovered how french the area was I was able to pull out my 7th grade french.  The kids and I read through it all.  Strangely enough I knew exactly where to find the French when I needed it.  I know…throw it away.  I still have all my prom dresses.  I still have ticket stubs from first dates.  I have all the kids’ baby teeth.  I am a freak, but at least I admit it. 

packed3.1

See progress!

5 responses to “Moving and music

  1. Music is a wonderful thing!!! I wanted to say taking his things his cloths is not a dorkey thing to do at all. I wish I had more of my mom’s stuff. Sometimes I wear the one and only shirt I have left of hers just so I can feel closer to her. and my mom passed away over 20 years ago. When times are hard.. those things will be a comfort. hope everything continues to go well. Take care!!

  2. Way to go girl! The packing looks great! The house is coming along too. The octogon window looks great in the bathroom, and all the new windows are in your garage waiting to be put in. The kitchen cabinets have arrived and the kitchen has had new sheetrock put up and has been all painted. The bathroom has had new sheetrock and has a new tub/shower, and has been painted!
    The basement looks awesome. The boys rooms are being sheetrocked as we speak. Thanks to Tonys dad, you now have a new breaker box (instead of a fuse box) and a new water heater!! The bathroom downstairs has the shower in and it looks great!
    I have seen the kitchen cabinets, the vanity for the bathroom, and some of the light fixtures…and ur new windows! Its gonna be great!!! I will try to get u some pics next weekend!! I am glad ur packing and it sounds like you are getting a little excited! Can’t wait to have you guys home!! Keep up the packing!
    Love Ya, Penny

  3. I have a friend who moved her husband’s stuff with her the first time she moved after he died. You will know when it’s time to do something with them and what you want to do.

  4. Yeah, progress is very good and you are doing great. Music is a very good soother and inspiration so turn it up and keep packing everything!

  5. Nope. Don’t throw it away. Someday, when the kids are old enough to take care of themselves, you can put it in a scrapbook (OK, many, many scrapbooks). At least that’s my plan.

Leave a Reply

