Joy-less

There are so many things that used to be fun.  Now they are just not.  I used to love to cook.  I was a great cook.  Now it’s a chore, a chore that I’ve gotten very creative at avoiding.  It seems pointless to spend hours preparing a meal when no one will appreciate it.  Jeff loved my cooking, he almost always complimented me on my cooking skills.  Now all I get are “ewww…s” and “yuck, what are those green things?”  Why go through all the work of preparing roast beef when the kids would rather have frozen pizza or mac and cheese?  Seriously? 

I also really enjoyed the whole family dinner routine, but now, doing it alone is just pointless, part of our family is missing.  I just can’t bring myself to take his place at the head of the table and it’s too much to see that place stay empty.  So instead of inflicting more torture upon myself, dinner is served on the living room floor.  As long as the kids don’t mind why should I? 

Something else that does concern me though, is the fact that I’m not eating.  Nothing tastes good anymore, and everything is too much work to prepare, so unless it comes wrapped in paper from a drive-thru I usually don’t eat much.  Being as the nearest drive-thru is 1.5 hours round trip fast food is a rare treat, thankfully there are a few foods that I will eat from home.  Toast, toast is good, especally with butter.  Baked potatoes with sour cream are quick and easy.  Frozen pizza is something I eat every other day.  and last but not least cereal, Honey Bunches of Ohs or Apple Cinnamon Cheerios with milk, but I don’t drink the milk, yuck.  Oh, I forgot about string cheese, and Nutrigrain bars.  So all in all it’s not a bad diet.  I’m getting dairy, carbs, fiber, some protein and a little tomatoe sauce.  But still I’ve lost 12 pounds since nov 20th, and I had to buy smaller jeans, so if anyone has any quick, easy calorie packed foods please share them with me. 

5 responses to “Joy-less

  1. Oh–I sooo understand where you are–can I take this opportunity to let you know that there is HOPE—life can have meaning again and you CAN love again.
    Blessings,
    Marsha

  2. Whipped cream? Is creamy, sugary and easy…and counts as dairy! 🙂

  3. I was going to suggest the Nutrigrain bars, then you mentioned them. They have a lot of vitamins and are quick and easy. Also chocolate Power Bars. I’m big on the quick and easy myself. Instant oatmeal – I add blueberries and walnuts – instant grits with cheese and bacon bits if you want – you can even add a little milk to get a little more dairy. Granola bars, yogurt (good mixed together, too) Bananas, peanut butter sandwiches,…. Peanut butter on rice cakes is quick and easy also. A handful of walnuts is good – calories but also protein and omega 3’s. We LOVE mac and cheese also – sometimes I add a little chicken to get some protein in there. You can buy the pre-cooked grilled chicken strips from Sam’s and add them to the mac and cheese, frozen veggies, beans, or whatever. Good luck. Hope some of this is helpful.

  4. Can the kids cook, if you can’t? Bora Bora Organic bars (from Costco) are good. I’ll be thinking of you.

  5. cashews & pistachios, if you like nuts

Leave a Reply

